If you’ve attempted online dating, you’ve almost likely used Tinder, the app that popularized the concept of swiping right or left to signal interest in a person.
While you may use Tinder for a while, most people do not wish to rely on it permanently. Eventually, you will likely discover a match, start a relationship, and no longer be interested in receiving likes and messages from other users.
If you’re ready to stop using Tinder, you have two options for freezing your dating profile: You can temporarily conceal your profile from the Discovery part of the app, or deactivate your account completely.
- To cancel your Tinder account, navigate to the app’s settings and select Delete My Account.
- If you delete your account, your Tinder profile will be deleted along with any matches and chats you’ve made.
- You can also hide your profile from the app’s Discovery section, preventing other users from viewing it.
How to hide your Tinder account temporarily
To prevent potential matches from viewing your profile, it’s simple to hide your account from Tinder’s Discovery area. This manner, your account will remain active should you decide to reactivate it at a later date.
1. Launch the Tinder app and tap the profile icon in the top-left corner of the screen on iOS or the bottom-right corner of the screen on Android.
2. Tap Settings on the profile page.
3.Swipe the button to the left in the Discovery area to disable Show me on Tinder.
Even after disabling discovery, you may still get messages, as your profile will remain available to those who have already matched with you.
How to delete your Tinder account
If you are positive that you will never use your Tinder account or communicate with any matches you’ve made within the app, you can permanently delete your account, which will also remove all matches and chats you’ve kept within the app.
1. Launch the Tinder app and tap the profile symbol in the upper left corner on iOS or the lower right corner on Android.
2. On your profile page, tap the Settings icon.
3. At the bottom of the page, tap the Delete Account button.
4. On the Pause My Account page, you will have the option to pause your account rather than delete it. Tap Remove Account.
5. Confirm that you still wish to delete the account. You’ll also be asked why you’re canceling your Tinder account, which you can answer or avoid.
You should be aware that canceling your account does not cancel your subscription automatically. If you are currently subscribed to one of Tinder’s premium plans, head to the location where you originally subscribed (such as your Apple ID or Google Play Store) to cancel your subscription.