- You can permanently delete your YouTube channel through the account settings menu.
- This menu also lets you hide your YouTube channel, which makes it private to everyone but you.
- Once your YouTube channel is deleted it can’t be recovered, but you can always make a private channel public again.
YouTube has existed for nearly twenty years. And if you’ve been on YouTube since its inception, your channel may contain humiliating old videos you don’t want anyone to view.
Regardless of the cause, it is not difficult to deactivate a YouTube channel. Delete your YouTube channel to remove all of your videos, comments, and playlists. And once you delete your account, the information is gone permanently – it cannot be recovered.
If you choose a less permanent approach, you can also hide your channel, making everything on your account private to everyone but you. You can make a private channel public again at any time, but your comments and replies will be erased permanently.
Here’s how to deactivate or temporarily hide your YouTube channel.
How to delete or hide your YouTube channel
Essentially, the processes to deactivate or conceal your YouTube channel are same.
1. Launch a web browser and log into the YouTube account you wish to cancel.
2.Scroll down the homepage’s left side and click on Settings.
3. Click the View advanced options option under Your channel on the Account tab of the Settings menu.
4. Click the Channel Delete link. You may be required to enter a password.
5. On the subsequent page, you will have two options: I want to hide my material and I want to erase my stuff permanently. Select any option you prefer.
6. A drop-down menu will display the items that will be permanently removed or hidden. To proceed, you must select each item and then click the Delete My Content or Hide My Content button.
7. A pop-up will appear requesting confirmation that you wish to hide or delete your content. You may also be required to provide your email address.
8. Again, select the Delete My Content or Hide My Content button.
Your channel will be removed upon clicking the final button. Channels containing a large amount of content may take longer to erase, but the process should just take a few seconds.
Remember that deleted accounts cannot be recovered. You can always make your channel public again by filling out a form if it is hidden.
Deleting a YouTube Channel Takes 90 Seconds
YouTube has a plethora of settings and features, so it can be difficult to locate the option to delete a channel.
However, once you know where to go, you should be able to delete your channel in under 5 minutes. You are then free to explore YouTube on your account or create a new channel.
Delete Channel vs. Delete Account
Importantly, this tutorial will demonstrate how to hide or permanently delete YouTube channels. A channel is the location of your content.
By removing “my channel,” your content will be removed from the YouTube app. If you had a channel name that was associated with your videos and playlists, it will no longer be visible on your account.
Nevertheless, deleting your account does not prevent you from viewing and interacting with YouTube content. Your account will continue to exist, but without your video content.
Your YouTube account is directly linked to your Google account, making its deletion more difficult. YouTube, as a Google service, is linked to other Google products such as Gmail.
In order to delete your account, you must delete your entire Google account. That involves removing content from all Google services associated with your account.